Phishing Scam Alert: Monster Job Seeker Tool = BOGUS
29 October 2007
Ken Yeung
View Comments
If you’ve received an e-mail from what appears to be from Monster.com, be careful that you’re not falling for a phishing scam and compromise your account. I received an e-mail from Monster.com from an account I used a long time ago and it asked me to download the latest Job Seeker Tool to help prevent me from not having access to my account after a certain date. Well it seems legit right? Well until my curiosity got the better of me and I tried to look for anything out of the ordinary and took me a while before I saw it!
Ken Yeung is an web marketer experienced in helping companies build great projects leveraging Internet technologies to better engage their customers. From website builds to email marketing campaigns, online advertising & even social media, Ken understands how to make the web work for YOU. Read more about him on TheLetterTwo.com, Network Solutions' "Solutions Are Power" blog or even on Bub.blicio.us.

If you look at the above screenshot, you’ll see the download screen which they tell you that you’ll see in step 2 in downloading the Job Seeker Tool. Obviously those that aren’t anal in their observations won’t quickly notice it, but look at where I’ve circled in red…the .com address isn’t even Monster’s domain. Now why would a company as big as Monster develop perhaps its own proprietary software only to have it come from another domain? Odd…so the fact that I wouldn’t be able to access my account any longer without getting this tool also perplexed me. The result? I googled this “Job Seeker Tool” and came across this site talking about the phishing scam.
So if you get this e-mail, delete it.













Leave your response!